The picture below shows the launch team members for SA-5.  Each person has been numbered.  Following the picture is a list of these numbers with the corresponding individual’s name.  You will note some of the individuals have not been identified.

If you know the name of any of the people in the picture, please contact us, either by email (see the floating tab on the left side of the page) or by the online comments (see the bottom of the page).  Include both the person’s number and name in your email or comment.  For instance,  “2.  John Doe”.  If you are using email, please also state the page title, “SA-5”.

SA-5 Launch photo 1 from blockhouse numbered

SA-5 Launch photo 1 from Blockhouse

Launch Team Members in SA-5 Launch Blockhouse Photo

1 17 33 Gene Bishop
2 18 Carrol Rouse 34 Tommy Marsh
3 Dr. Kurt Debus 19 Lionel “Ed” Fannin 35
4 John Bell 20 Terry Greenfield 36
5 John Twigg 21 37
6 Dr. Wernher von Braun 22 W. O. Brown 38
7 23 39
8 Jack King 24 Andy Pickett 40
9 Dick Deagro 25 41 Milt Chambers
10 John Churchill, MDAC 26 Carner Dowling 42
11 Bob Moser 27 Bill Jafferies 43
12 General Sam Phillips 28 John Avery 44
13 Herb Daft 29 Isom “Ike” Rigell 45
14 Dale Armstrong 30 46
15 31
16 32


SA-5 — 1 Comment

  1. SA-5 #36 Jim Hazelton & #37 I believe is Jim Hensley & this picture was taken from Blockhouse @ LC37

    Some of us were busy safing our systems and didn’t show in the picture, e.g., I was operating the propellant fuels panel and Gray Rawls was operating the LOX panel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *